The Oak House in one of the oldest building in the area.
The family most closely associated with it are the Turtons who were living there by 1634. The house remained in the Turton family until 1768 when it passed to William Whyley.
John Wesley was invited to preach here while it was his possession. The house, in a somewhat dilaphidated state, was bought by Reuben Farley, intending to make it the family home, but his wife apparently took a dislike to it and they never moved into it. Instead, he bequested it to the town as a museum.
Local architects Wood and Kendrick were employed to restore the house and it was formally opened to the public on 25 July 1898.
The Oak House Museum boasts some fine panelling and is furnished with 17th century furniture. The house is set in its own grounds with a children’s playground on site, which is available to visitors during the opening hours of the museum. The museum has a lively programme of activities to enjoy for all ages throughout the year as well as schools sessions.
Reuben Farley intended to make it the family home, but his wife apparently took a dislike to it and they never moved into it!